DG Election season has arrived at WIPO.

Announcement of eight Candidates for Election of Director-General of the World Intellectual Property Organization, one of the most important UN subsidiaries.

The election to nominate the next Director-General of WIPO is to take place in Geneva, Switzerland on March 5 and 6 in 2020.

 Overview of WIPO
WIPO is a specialized agency of the United Nations, which is in charge of intellectual property (IP). It is comprised of 192 member states and is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland. About 1,100 staff members work for WIPO, whose main tasks include making rules on IP, operating and managing international filing systems, and supporting emerging countries with the IP needs.

Election of WIPO Director-General
The next Director-General will be elected by the vote of the WIPO Coordination Committee that consists of 83 member state out of the 192 WIPO member states. Each member state of the Committee has one vote. The Director General’s term of office is six years.

Introducing the list of candidates:

1-Mr. Marco Aleman from Colombia

2-Ms. WANG Binying from China

3-Dr. Edward Kwakwa from Ghana

4-Mr. Kenichiro Natsume from Japan

5-Dr. Dámaso Pardo from Argentina

6-Mr. Daren Tang from Republic of Singapore

7-Ms. Saule Tlevlessova from Republic of Kazakhstan

8- Mr. Adebambo Adewopo from Nigeria